Student Groups

UR Geographic Club

The Collegian profiled the UR Geographic Club.

2023-2024 Officers
Grace Thorpe, President
Matteo Gonzalez, Vice-President
Megan Montoya, Treasurer
Maddie Hitchings, Events

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Steph Spera

Gamma Theta Upsilon

The Department was granted a charter of Gamma Theta Upsilon (GTU), the International Geography Honor Society, in 2010 and inducted 11 charter members on November 17, 2010.

GTU was founded in 1928 and became a national organization in 1931. GTU's national president, Dr. Don Zeigler, a professor of geography at Old Dominion University, swore in UR's charter members. Charter members included: Carroll Courtenay, Carolyn Doherty, Taylor Hotchkiss, Maddy Mengler, Ashley Miles, Mike Olson, Asha Phadke, and Alex Purdy. Recent graduates were: Adrian Bellomo, Angela Campagnoli, and Cloe Franko.

2023-2024 GTU Officers

Matteo Gonzalez, President
Tim Babchak, Vice-President
Jassiem Konrad, Treasurer
Grace Thorpe, Membership

Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Salisbury

To qualify for membership in GTU, students must have completed at least three semesters, have taken at least three geography classes, and have achieved at least a 3.3 GPA in their overall coursework, as well as their geography courses. The academic honor society sponsors activities that support geography knowledge and awareness and members must meet high academic requirements and share a background and interest in geography.

Geography students also frequently participate actively in other student groups such as Earthlodge, GreenUR, and SEEDS.